Dedicated to the ethics, epistemology, and metaphysics of the Hellenistic period.


The Hellenistic Philosophy Society aims to promote the study of figures and schools that emerged in the period after the death of Aristotle (~322 BCE) until Rome defeated the last Hellenistic dynasty at the Battle of Actium (~31 BCE). The Society focuses on the philosophies of the period's three major schools: Epicureanism, Stoicism, and Skepticism (both Academic and Pyrrhonian). Included also in the scope of the Society are later ancient thinkers who post-dated the Hellenistic period but whose work was grounded in Hellenistic thought. 



The Society's goal is to increase the representation of Hellenistic material at major philosophy conferences. Although many members of the Hellenistic Philosophy Society are specialists in more mainstream areas of ancient philosophy, such as Platonic and/or Aristotelian thought, they seek a space devoted to the study and discussion of issues and figures in the Hellenistic period.